Breakfast roundup #1 – De Clieu

Sleek, with polished concrete, and yet mildly botanical. Menu is rather hip, presented on a clipboard with items you just want to grab off the page and eat.

De Clieu offers a selection from Mark Dundon’s seven seeds range, coffee here is always a reliable choice. The latte is velvety and mellow with a waft of roasted nut.

Brunch De Clieu – was a delicate flight of stairs from the soft cauliflower purée, juicy wild mushrooms to the fried egg and slices of rowdy free range bacon. A final drizzle of truffle oil and veal juice to finish! Not too heavy, and not too overwhelming – brunch that is just right.

Rating: Yummy+1. Excellent seven seeds coffee as always, a beautiful breakfast. I would definitely come back for more.

[De Clieu]
Where: 187 Gertrude St, Fitzroy
Contact: 03 9416 4661

You may also like other breakfast joints: Babka bakery cafe, Replete Providore, Auction Rooms.

De Clieu on Urbanspoon

Comments
6 Responses to “Breakfast roundup #1 – De Clieu”
  1. msihua says:

    I love this place and wished I could have more time to go back!

  2. Ooh this place is not too far from me. Hehehehehe

  3. I wish I can fly back and have breakie tomorrow…. no such luck! đŸ™‚

  4. Ashley says:

    Sigh…I loved the brunch de Clieu. Just so lovely! Need to go back

  5. That coffee looks divine. De Clieu is firmly on the wish list!

  6. Em says:

    I had breakfast here on Saturday. The pork neck roti was excellent.

Leave a comment

  • Food RATING scale

    Unpleasant: damn upset my desire to eat

    Average: palatable but many shortcomings

    Yummy: a pleasant experience

    Yummy +1: mouth-watering like rain

    Yummy +2: exquisite flavours that hit all the right notes

    Divine: sheer culinary perfection!

  • Contact

    Email: almostalwaysravenous [@] gmail [dot] com

  • STAY IN TOUCH

     Follow me on Facebook  Follow me on Twitter  RSS Feed
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,182 other subscribers
  • Categories

  • Archives