French Lettuce Patisserie & Bakery

237 Nicholson St
Carlton, 3053
03 9347 7311

What better place to get a birthday cake than from this 30 year old patisserie out on Nicholson St just a short walk off Alexandra parade. Though fairly remote (far from most other shops), despite nearing closing time there were still diners about and a small queue for people collecting their cakes.

The wedding cakes standing prominently in the window display are a floral strut of elegant artwork. The team here make cakes for all occasions, French breads and pastries, not to mention the much praised vanilla slice. Apologies there aren’t many photos – I totally forgot to bring my camera when I went to collect the cake…sigh!!!

Chocolate Chantilli – at almost the same height as the diameter, this cake towers with grace. The ‘Chocolate flakes’ as mentioned in the menu description is utterly understated – they were more like thick slabs of couverture chocolate forming palisades around the cake. Not that I am complaining. Sandwiched between thick layers of silky cream are tiers of chocolate sponge soaked in Kirsh (a non sweet fruit brandy) that gives the cake a mellow cherry sweetness. I personally found there was too much cream for my liking, and was a little light on the kirsh – I sound like such an alcoholic.

Aside getting the cake I also snuck in…

Vanilla slice – The custard is absolutely heavenly soft and ethereally fluffy. It is sandwiched between thin crusts of crumbly pastry, and a generous dusting of icing sugar. I initially thought wow that’s a huge brick of a slice, but turns out it was so moreishly delicious that I scoffed the whole thing down in one go. No wonder they have been voted best in Melbourne by the Age.

Rating: Yummy cake; yummy +1 vanilla slice. I will try to remind myself to drop by for more of that custard heaven, and maybe try the other cakes and pastries.

You may also like: Eaglehawk bakery, Dench Bakers, Noisette, Parisian Patisserie.

The French Lettuce Patisserie & Bakery on Urbanspoon

Comments
9 Responses to “French Lettuce Patisserie & Bakery”
  1. Is this place new?

  2. FOOD says:

    Lovely cakes!
    You could tell how fluffy and creamy the vanilla slice is! Should get the cake for my friend’s birthday.

  3. msihua says:

    30 years? Woah! Loving the huge shards of chocolate on the cake!

  4. Ashley says:

    ARGH! Have been wanting to try their Vanilla slice forever, they’re infamous for it. 🙂 Looks so delicious!

  5. I swear I’ve been past this place so many times but only during peak hour traffic and cannot for the life of me find any parking! I love a good vanilla slice.

  6. Alex Chen says:

    I agree about the Vanilla Slice, it is the best that I have tasted in Melbourne so far.

  7. The vanilla slice looks so appealing to me. I must try it for myself to see if it is the best!

  8. GOOOOO VANILLA SLICE!!!! please buy me one too if u go HAHA

Leave a comment

  • Food RATING scale

    Unpleasant: damn upset my desire to eat

    Average: palatable but many shortcomings

    Yummy: a pleasant experience

    Yummy +1: mouth-watering like rain

    Yummy +2: exquisite flavours that hit all the right notes

    Divine: sheer culinary perfection!

  • Contact

    Email: almostalwaysravenous [@] gmail [dot] com

  • STAY IN TOUCH

     Follow me on Facebook  Follow me on Twitter  RSS Feed
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,182 other subscribers
  • Categories

  • Archives