Snow Pony – Breakfast revisited

95 Whitehorse Rd
Balwyn
03 9816 8911

A quick revisit on one of my local breakfast joints: Snow Pony. Looking back at the first review of this place in the very early days of this blog I realise how much difference 1 year can make on ones writing style and photography skills (*ahem including remembering to take photos).

In view of how far behind with posts and a tremendous urge to prance all the way down to the bottom of the list so that I can share the products of my brand spanking new camera & lens, I shall have to keep this trip down memory lane SHORT! I promise!

See here for my first (and more comprehensive) post and here for the sister café Porgie & Mr Jones.

Check out the white pony perched high on the first floor of the exterior! It’s pretty cold outside, so not surprised the tables remain vacant…

Inside the buzz is all about, with the coffee machine steaming away, the waiters rushing about and much chatter amongst the local diners (once seated – me to be included). Though we did not get seats inside, we escaped the wintery breeze along the long exterior corridor with a strong overhead radiator.

Coffee – being a little heavier on the milk, it is a lighter brew than other offerings around Melbourne, but still smooth and agreeable.

McPony – It is much the same as I last remember it: toasted thin and crispy, filled with creamy & fluffy scramble of emmental cheese and eggs. Double smoked ham adds that savoury punch.

Toasted banana bread – though still moist and fairly fluffy, was a little dryer than previously. I suspect with rising banana prices, less banana and more dry weight (ie flour) has been added. Despite that, the thick mortar of marscapone, slices of fresh berries and banana sandwiched between the bread, alongside the generous mound of pistachio still adds a whole lot of salivation worthy bites to the plate.

Bread, mushrooms, eggs, feta – I forgot to ask Mr C.K whether or not he enjoyed it, but by the looks of the clean plate at the end, I presume it was pretty good.

Rating: Yummy. No doubt a local favourite around Balwyn, but given my favourite dish here revolves around an expensive commodity (aka banana), I might just wait until it drops in price before I order it again. HAHA.

Don’t forget to check out these other breakfast places I’ve reviewed >>> St Ali, Auction Rooms, Dead Man Espresso.

Just though I’d add in a haphazard photo with my coffee … that everyone seems to be using these days.

Snow Pony on Urbanspoon

Comments
9 Responses to “Snow Pony – Breakfast revisited”
  1. Ashley says:

    Aah, I LOVE snow pony, the mushrooms, avo and fetta dish your friend had is my favourite. I don’t think I’ve ever gone without ordering it…boring I know, but it’s that delicious. 🙂

    Photos look gorgeous! 🙂

  2. The breakfast here looks a little too hearty!

  3. Hannah says:

    I was all set to make a lighthearted joke about wanting a pony, but then I was rendered speechless by the sweet dish on offer here. I think I’d be so happy with the prettiness of the berries and pistachios that I wouldn’t even notice the dryness!

  4. nyotista says:

    hoooomygosh. those toasted banana bread is mega droolfest!! look at those generous pistachios!! i am so going to visit snow pony soon!

  5. msihua says:

    I still haven’t found my way here and you’re revisiting!! Booo!!! Next time, call me!

Leave a Reply

  • Food RATING scale

    Unpleasant: damn upset my desire to eat

    Average: palatable but many shortcomings

    Yummy: a pleasant experience

    Yummy +1: mouth-watering like rain

    Yummy +2: exquisite flavours that hit all the right notes

    Divine: sheer culinary perfection!

  • Contact

    Email: almostalwaysravenous [@] gmail [dot] com

  • STAY IN TOUCH

     Follow me on Facebook  Follow me on Twitter  RSS Feed
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,185 other followers

  • Categories

  • Archives

