Omah’s – for more crab

{Omah’s Malaysian – Hawthorn}
338-342 Burwood Road
Hawthorn, 3122
03 9818 7777

After the crab fest with fellow food bloggers, I was keen to quench my cravings for more salted egg mud crab. So what does one do? Visit the Hawthorn branch, a younger but sleeker sister of Omah’s at Port Melbourne. The space is expansive, with partitions to a bar area, a courtyard, and front dining area. Similar themes flow through its décor, most characteristically the oriental style bird cage lanterns.

May I add also, utensils necessary for the safe and tidy eating of mud crab: a shell cracker to break the hard crab shell, little pincers to get into all the nooks and crannies and little paper bibs to keep you almost spotless – of course this doesn’t cover your face! But please excuse me whilst I enjoy the full hands on experience of eating crab!

Lemon grass – first up is the lemon grass flavoured mud crab. A strong heat of lemon grass, coupled with a slight peppery note. The flesh is moist and succulent, fresh and sweet, making every bite of the pearly white meat a delight.

Salted egg – By comparison to the sublime experience I had recently at the Port Melbourne branch, I am somewhat underwhelmed with the slightly dryer flesh, muted salted egg aroma, and lacking in a touch of acidity balance.

And finally a simply delish plate of Singapore noodles.

Rating: Yummy. I currently prefer Port Melbourne’s rendition of its salted egg mud crabs (to which I awarded a Yummy+1), but certainly wins back a few points for its superb lemon grass!

Addit: Omah’s has being extremely receptive, has promised to rectify this inconsistency and I surely hope so too, as I would be sad if I have to drive to Port Melbourne for crab, when this place is so much closer to home. =(

Omah's Malaysian on Urbanspoon

Comments
6 Responses to “Omah’s – for more crab”
  1. Hmm.. i think port melbourne is more accessible via tram in my case but hawthorn is not really far away from me either… still considering over omah’s. hehe. 🙂

  2. you guys are so lucky to have a place like this in melbourne 🙂

  3. Ashley says:

    Ooh, thanks for checking out the Hawthorn branch! As I’ve seen everyone rave about the Port Melbourne one, but haven’t heard much about this one! 🙂 I’m literally only about a 5 minute drive (when no traffic) away! Mum and I have been keen to go, the lemongrass crab in particular looks delish! 🙂

  4. msihua says:

    They gave you a bib?! Awesome.. I’ve been to both and I ate crabs at both places too! Yayy!

  5. Agnes says:

    Oh, a BIB! What a brilliant idea. I’m going to head back to the Port Melbourne one in a couple of weeks – whee!

  6. Thanh says:

    At all the American crab houses, they always provide a bib. It’s a must for eating crab I think. Else you get so dirty, in a good way 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Food RATING scale

    Unpleasant: damn upset my desire to eat

    Average: palatable but many shortcomings

    Yummy: a pleasant experience

    Yummy +1: mouth-watering like rain

    Yummy +2: exquisite flavours that hit all the right notes

    Divine: sheer culinary perfection!

  • Contact

    Email: almostalwaysravenous [@] gmail [dot] com

  • STAY IN TOUCH

     Follow me on Facebook  Follow me on Twitter  RSS Feed
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,186 other followers

  • Categories

  • Archives

