Royal Siam Thai

136 High St,
Kew
9853 0167

Close to Kew junction, Royal Siam is fairly cosily sandwiched between other shops, with a soft purple hue that echoes the homely interior design – royal purple walls with splashes of gold decorations. It was a fairly quiet night, not surprisingly for a Wednesday. Though there were quite a number of locals coming in for takeaway orders.

There was a decent variety of choices on the tri-folded menu, with the general price range set for stir fried and curries at: vegetarian (mixed vegetables + tofu) $13.90; chicken / pork / beef $15.90; Calamari $16.90; Prawns $17.90. I’ve tried to match up what we ordered with what the photos depict; hopefully I have done it right… (my stupid bad memory)

(left) Gang Massaman: red curry paste cooked with potatoes, onion & roasted peanuts with choice of: chicken. This is one of the spicier dishes (though still very mild in my standards) with a little sweetness coming through.

(right) Pud Med Ma-muang Himapan: Stir fried with cashew nuts & roasted dry chilli with choice of: calamari. Calamari was tender and well seasoned, and I always love cashew nuts in stir fry!!! I have such a partiality for crunchy cashew nuts.

 

(left) Gang Dang: Thai red curry paste cooked in coconut milk with seasonal vegetables with choice of: chicken. Creamy sauce was lick-a-licious, though pumpkin was well under-cooked.

(right) Pud Bai Gapoa: Stir fried garlic, chilli & sweet basil with choice of: beef. A simple garlic and soy based stir fry.

Pla Sam Rod ($18.70): Fish fillet deep fried until golden brown and served with a chilli sauce. This would have to be my favourite dish of the night. Crispy fried skin topped with a tangy and mildly piquant sauce, which heavily reminds me of the sweet and sour elements of Cantonese braised fish (紅燒魚).

We had the above with coconut rice – moist and fragrantly coconut. Not as creamy as some places, which ironically meant I could have more without rapidly reaching satiety.

Rating: Yummy – pleasant flavours, which though not spectacular had a lovely homely, suburban quality to it. Spice level was fairly mild to warm with good portion size – an honest family-friendly eatery in the ‘burbs.

Royal Siam on Urbanspoon

Comments
2 Responses to “Royal Siam Thai”
  1. I rarely eat out in my suburb. I usually scour the city for eateries so that after I eat, I can get my Korean grocery shopping done. 😀

Leave a Reply

  • Food RATING scale

    Unpleasant: damn upset my desire to eat

    Average: palatable but many shortcomings

    Yummy: a pleasant experience

    Yummy +1: mouth-watering like rain

    Yummy +2: exquisite flavours that hit all the right notes

    Divine: sheer culinary perfection!

  • Contact

    Email: almostalwaysravenous [@] gmail [dot] com

  • STAY IN TOUCH

     Follow me on Facebook  Follow me on Twitter  RSS Feed
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,185 other followers

  • Categories

  • Archives

