Earl Canteen

500 Bourke Street
Melbourne, 3000

Quite the difficult place to find, well at least I thought so anyways. Would’ve been nice if I had taken note of urbanspoon directions – enter via Lt Bourke. It is nestled deep in a court near Movida de Aqui easily visible off Lt Bourke St with these big green letters (“E.A.R.L.”) stacked upon each other at the front entrance.

I had read many a wonderful review regarding the baguettes but to my dismay I was already QUITE full from lunch. Being tremendously delicious looking didn’t help either… Though maybe just a few small macarons, surely I have some space for that! I mean what does one do when you see such perfectly crafted little macarons with gorgeous “feet” (feet: the rough edges at the base of each macaron). Note: they were indeed quite small for the $2.50 they were selling for.

I tried the rose, pistachio and coffee flavours. The ganache was an awesome treat, not too sweet but had a mellow subtlety about it, which is quite different to the richer versions around. I was a disappointed not to have been able to try the salted caramel though, hrmph. The meringue was soft and airy on the inside, with the slightest crunch. Though, I wonder if one of the meringues had been aired out a tad too much since the “crunch” err’ed towards soft.

Yummy! Still need to come back to try the baguettes, more macarons, and well whatever else they have… =)

P.S. Apologies for the lack of vibrant FOOD photos – I’m currently relocating my previous reviews from urbanspoon. Thanks for the patience =). Note: all my NEW posts have photos!

EARL Canteen on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

  • Food RATING scale

    Unpleasant: damn upset my desire to eat

    Average: palatable but many shortcomings

    Yummy: a pleasant experience

    Yummy +1: mouth-watering like rain

    Yummy +2: exquisite flavours that hit all the right notes

    Divine: sheer culinary perfection!

  • Contact

    Email: almostalwaysravenous [@] gmail [dot] com

  • STAY IN TOUCH

     Follow me on Facebook  Follow me on Twitter  RSS Feed
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,185 other followers

  • Categories

  • Archives

